Overview:

2018-19 Dates

Tuesday, October 23 @ 5:15 PM (SOLD OUT) & 6:30 PM (SOLD OUT): Bent Gate Mountaineering (Golden)
Tuesday, October 30 @ 6:00 PM: Neptune Mountaineering Boulder (Boulder)
Thursday, November 1 @ 6:00 PM (SOLD OUT): Rab (Denver)
Thursday, November 8 @ 6:00 PM: Salto Coffee Works (Nederland)
Thursday, November 8 @ 6:30 PM: New Belgium Brewery (Ft. Collins)
Tuesday, November 13 @ 6:30 PM: Epic Mountain Gear (Frisco)
Wednesday, November 14 @ 6:00 PM: Crooked Stave (Denver)
Tuesday, November 27 @ 6:00 PM: Odell Brewing Company RiNo (Denver)
Tuesday, December 4 @ 7:15 PM: Neptune Mountaineering – Ladies’ Night (Boulder)
Thursday, December 13 @ 6:00 PM: Salto Coffee Works (Nederland)
Tuesday, December 18 @ 5:30 PM: Denver Tech Center – (Greenwood Village)
Tuesday, January 8 @ 6:00 PM: Equinox Brewing (Fort Collins)
Tuesday, January 15 @ 6:00 PM: Neptune Mountaineering (Boulder)
Wednesday, January 30 @ 6:00 PM: Rab (Denver)
Tuesday, February 5 @ 6:30 PM: Bent Gate Mountaineering (Golden)
Tuesday, February 26 @ 6:00 PM: Neptune Mountaineering (Boulder)
Wednesday, March 6 @ 6:00 PM:  Crooked Stave (Denver)
Tuesday, March 12 @ 6:00 PM: Neptune Mountaineering (Boulder)

Please view our Facebook Events or EventBrite page for more detail and free tickets.

Prerequisites:

None – just an interest in learning about avalanches!

Time:

varies by location

Duration:

1 hour

Meeting location:

Varies by date

Details:

Every year, avalanches are one of the leading causes of death among backcountry enthusiasts. Our home turf, Colorado, consistently leads the nation in avalanche fatalities. If you plan on spending time in high, snowy country, be prepared.  In this one-hour free avalanche awareness clinic, our expert guides give an introduction to how avalanches happen, what they look like, and how to avoid them.

Our guides are American Institute for Avalanche Research and Education (AIARE) trained to teach avalanche courses, and they also spend some 300 days a year in the field—they know snow from an academic and practical perspective, and they share their knowledge with you.

Notes:

If you have a location at which you think we should present, please contact us at 720-387-8944.

.

Potential topics include:

  • Types of avalanches
  • Avalanche terrain
  • Snowpack analysis
  • Weather considerations
  • Avalanche decision-making
  • Trip planning and preparation
  • Travel techniques
  • Education Opportunities

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.